Continue in His Word:

Two words are critical to our faith in God and our faith in each other. Those words are “name” and “word”. The Lord’s name is everything to every Christian who follows in the way of Jesus Christ. (Romans 9:17) The Lord’s Word is the foundation of our very faith. (Psalm 119:105) To be called a Christian is to claim yourself as a witness for the Word of God. The Lord has always said everything about our faith is based on the Word of His Father. We are Christians because of His Word. (Romans 10:17) We are saved by His Word. We have faith in His promises that are based on the word. Likewise, as a boy whenever I misbehaved, someone quickly reminded me that my name was Gloria and Dan’s boy. When I attempted to borrow money or anything else as a boy, someone would remind me that my word was my bond. Name and word. When we marry, God’s Word and our individual words are both invoked. The “name” and the “word” gives us hope. “He that is of God heareth God’s words.” (John 8:47) All children walk in the way of their parents. As others see us they see those that influenced us in name and word. The Lord reminded: “If you continue in my word you are my disciples.” (John 8:31) Be His disciple. Be encouraged.

Leave a comment