Just because:

It has been my practice over the years to save the various Hallmark or Mahoney cards given to me by my immediate family. These cards came mainly during holidays such as Christmas, Father’s Day, then birthdays, wedding anniversaries, and at times for no special reason other than “just because.” All of these cards are special to me. All of these cards are precious to me. They were given from the heart by my wife and children. One of the most touching cards over the years has been one given to me by the youngest of our three daughters, Ericka. She thanked me for my love and for allowing her to make mistakes without judgment. She was grateful that I had never treated her any different no matter the difficult times but was like the prodigal Father who is always waiting for your call or return back home. (Luke 15) My model for the treatment of my daughters had been the Lord. He is loving. (John 3:16) He is kind. (Luke 12) He is forgiving. (1John 1) He is patient. (Genesis 28 and 32) He is understanding. (John 16) As we are gifted with marriage and children, remember how the Lord has been with us through all of our trials. Then let us learn to treat our spouses and children in the same light. (1 Corinthians 7) In the end, Solomon’s Proverbs 22:6 stills works: “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart depart from it.” Be encouraged.

Leave a comment